American Affiliation of Skilled Baseball

Fargo-Moorhead 9, Milwaukee 8 (10 Innings) – Box Score

The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks walked off on the Milwaukee Milkmen within the backside of the tenth inning in recreation 5 of the Miles Wolff Cup Finals 9-8 to win the 2022 American Affiliation Championship.

3B Leobaldo Pina stepped to the plate with two runners on and one away within the backside of the tenth and punched a 1-1 supply proper again up the center to permit C Christian Correa to attain the championship clinching run. Pina completed the night time 2-for-6 whereas it was Correa’s first time on base within the contest after drawing a stroll earlier within the inning.

The sport wanted further innings because of a pair of massive offensive outbursts. The Milkmen took the primary lead of the night time within the prime of the primary as DH Keon Barnum (2-for-4) singled dwelling CF Bryan Torres (3-for-5) however the RedHawks moved in entrance within the second with a two-run dwelling run from CF Evan Alexander (3-for-4). Torres tied issues again up within the third when he scored on a sac fly from 2B Miguel Gomez

SS Sam Dexter (3-for-5) pushed the RedHawks again in entrance within the fourth when he scored on a sac fly from LF Nick Novak

The Milkmen put the RedHawks’ championship hopes in critical hazard within the prime of the sixth once they plated six runs together with a homer from C Hector Sanchez (2-for-4), RBI base knocks from Torres and 3B Logan Trowbridge (3-for-5) and a two-RBI single from Gomez. However the RedHawks got here hovering again within the seventh by loading up the bases and continuing to plate 5 runs of their very own to tie the rating once more. 

Within the seventh, RF Alec Olund drew a bases-loaded stroll, Dexter singled and took second on an error that permit each Pina and Drew Ward scored and, within the subsequent at-bat, Olund and Dexter each scored after a single from Alexander.

The win offers the RedHawks’ their first American Affiliation Crown and first championship since successful the Northern League in 2010.